The Purpose of Blogging

ImageSocial media is the epitome of lush. It’s over-the-top, constantly trying to be shinier and more exciting, and so damn entertaining. I make a habit of brutally judging girls’ blogs, but at the same time, I’m totally interested in their ootd (the first time I saw that tagged on someone’s blog post I had to google it. Not a proud moment). Like, please tell me more about the process of getting your hair soft. And where can I buy your sweater? Oh, you told me in the caption. Phew, thanks for that. At this point I’ve seen so many girly, fashion blogs that I’m really only interested in the themed ones: Post-Grad Life. Kill Yourself Because I’m 23 and My Wedding Was Perfect. Nail Polish and Puppies. You know, the good stuff.

But what you don’t see is people blogging (or instagramming or facebooking or tweeting, etc.) about their real lives. I don’t know about you, but I have yet to come across Pictures of Crying Girls in the Bathroom or I Failed This Class Three Times. We’ve grown up learning how to display our lives in a way that makes others see us the way we want to be seen. In some circumstances this is a good thing, but it comes at a hefty price: we are lonely. Not all of us and not all the time, but collectively. What lies behind social media is someone in their pajamas, alone in their room. Habitually hiding parts of ourselves online so easily transfers into hiding them in real life. I’ve fallen victim to this phenomenon myself, always wanting to appear poised and perfect and presentable. But for what?

The truth is, people see through the face you put on for the world pretty damn quick. And if they stick around, that means they like what they see under the surface. So I’m here to say, let’s stop. Post that picture of you and your mom even though you haven’t hit the gym in a while. Blog about the real parts of your life, not just your nail polish color and your super cute lunch date (although please include those too). I don’t want to read about how you got the first job you applied to, I want to read about how you’ve been getting over your break-up and are finally doing better. I want to read about your parent’s third divorce and whether or not you believe in God and what music you’re into right now.

So that’s my goal. I want to break out of this photo-shopped 21-year-old girl molding and really talk about real life. I want to be someone who is comfortable with imperfection and complexities. I want to encourage you to share your real life with me and the people who look at your Instagram and read your tweets. I promise we will all love you more, and for the right reasons. 

So thank you for giving me a place to talk about MY real life and a place to hopefully be reassured that I’m not the only one who wonders if this is what it’s really all about.

In the wise words of Taylor Swift, “We’re happy, free, confused, and lonely, at the same time”. Oh, and if you aren’t okay with some TSwift quotes, you might as well just get off my blog right now.

6 thoughts on “The Purpose of Blogging

  1. Ooooh this is gooooood. You’re right! Never be afraid to be yourself, break out of the norm and show the world what you’re truly made of! You tell ‘em Sara!

  2. Even though I said it was lame on Facebook, you write(type) very well. I will probably check it out now and then to leave random comments that probably will make you want to punch me in the face.

    • Haha thank you! I love writing, I’ve been really enjoying getting back into it. You can leave as many good and/or obnoxious comments as you want, I’ll still love you :)

  3. I’m so proud of you! I’m super happy that you recognize the difference in how we perceive ourselves, how others perceive us and how we want to be perceived. Are any of those the truth ? As long as you continue to ask questions, you’ll continue to grow. I learn a lot from you! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

